Guides · PeptideU · 8 min read

What Is Orforglipron Approved For? Label Indications, Per the Research

What Is Orforglipron Approved For? Label Indications, Per the Research
The short answer

Orforglipron is an oral small-molecule GLP-1 receptor agonist developed as a prescription medicine. A 2026 Drugs journal review documented its first regulatory approval (PMID 42479349). Its pivotal programme covered obesity and type 2 diabetes: a 2025 NEJM obesity trial (PMID 40960239), a 2025 NEJM trial in early type 2 diabetes (PMID 40544435), a head-to-head trial versus oral semaglutide (PMID 41765029) and an insulin add-on trial (PMID 42251769). Approved wording varies by country, and label questions belong with a prescribing clinician.

The short answer from the regulatory literature

Orforglipron is a prescription medicine — an orally administered, small-molecule, non-peptide agonist of the glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor. Its regulatory milestone has been documented in the pharmacology literature: a 2026 article in Drugs recorded orforglipron's first approval and summarised the development programme that supported it (PMID 42479349). Because approved indication wording, population limits and conditions of use are set separately by each national regulator and are revised over time, the precise text of any given label is not something a literature summary can stand in for. The authoritative source is the current prescribing information issued in the relevant country, and any question about whether a particular person falls within an approved indication is one for a prescribing clinician.

What the published evidence base does show clearly is which conditions orforglipron was formally studied in during its phase 3 programme, because those trials define the therapeutic areas regulators were asked to consider. Those areas were chronic weight management in obesity and glycaemic control in type 2 diabetes. Every other proposed use discussed in reviews of the GLP-1 class remains investigational for this molecule.

Why orforglipron attracted regulatory attention

Reviews of the field framed orforglipron as a structural departure from the injectable GLP-1 receptor agonists. A 2025 review in Cardiovascular Diabetology — Endocrinology Reports described the shift "from needles to pills" and positioned orally available small molecules as a way to widen access to GLP-1 receptor pharmacology without peptide formulation constraints (PMID 41053816). A 2026 Endocrine Reviews overview of novel GLP-1-based medications for type 2 diabetes and obesity placed orforglipron among the agents reshaping that treatment landscape (PMID 41054801), and a 2025 commentary in Med characterised the arrival of an effective oral small molecule as a significant step for obesity pharmacotherapy (PMID 41389711). A 2025 systematic review of emerging obesity pharmacotherapies in Pharmacological Reviews catalogued orforglipron among agents advancing through late-stage development at that time (PMID 39952695).

The pivotal trials behind the indications studied

The table below lists the registrational-stage trials published in the peer-reviewed literature. Each row carries its own citation.

Published trialPopulation studiedComparisonCitation
2025 NEJM obesity trialAdults with obesityPlacebo-controlledPMID 40960239
2025 NEJM trial in early type 2 diabetesAdults with early type 2 diabetesPlacebo-controlledPMID 40544435
ACHIEVE-3 (2026, Lancet)Adults with type 2 diabetesOpen-label, non-inferiority vs oral semaglutidePMID 41765029
ACHIEVE-5 (2026, JAMA)Adults with type 2 diabetes on insulin glargineAdded to titrated insulin glarginePMID 42251769

Obesity: what the 2025 NEJM trial reported

The 2025 New England Journal of Medicine obesity trial randomised adults with obesity to once-daily oral orforglipron at 6 mg, 12 mg or 36 mg or to placebo over 72 weeks, and researchers reported mean body-weight reductions of roughly 7.8% to 11.2% across the active groups compared with about 2.1% with placebo (PMID 40960239). The same report described greater weight reduction at higher dose levels, which is the pattern reviews of the class have repeatedly noted (PMID 41398455). These figures are trial averages across study populations with defined entry criteria; they describe what the study measured, not what any individual outside the trial would experience.

Type 2 diabetes: what the glycaemic trials reported

In the 2025 NEJM trial in early type 2 diabetes, researchers administered once-daily orforglipron at 3 mg, 12 mg or 36 mg against placebo for 40 weeks and reported HbA1c reductions of approximately 1.3 to 1.6 percentage points in the active groups versus roughly 0.1 percentage points with placebo, alongside reductions in body weight (PMID 40544435).

ACHIEVE-3, published in The Lancet in 2026, was a multinational, multicentre, open-label, randomised non-inferiority phase 3 trial that compared once-daily oral orforglipron with oral semaglutide in adults with type 2 diabetes; the investigators reported that orforglipron met the non-inferiority criterion for glycaemic efficacy in that comparison (PMID 41765029). ACHIEVE-5, published in JAMA in 2026, examined orforglipron added to titrated insulin glargine in adults with type 2 diabetes and reported greater reductions in HbA1c and body weight than the comparison arm in that setting (PMID 42251769). Together these trials map the glycaemic-control territory that regulators reviewed, spanning early disease, head-to-head comparison with another oral GLP-1 agent, and combination with basal insulin.

Doing the math on a vial? The PeptideU app does reconstitution, units and dilution for you.

Try it free

How to read "approved for" correctly

An approval is jurisdiction-specific, indication-specific and population-specific. Three distinctions matter when reading any summary of orforglipron's status:

For those reasons, this page does not reproduce label text. The current prescribing information for the relevant country, and a prescribing clinician who can read it against an individual's history, are the appropriate references.

Uses discussed in the literature that are investigational, not approved

Reviews of GLP-1 receptor agonists as a class have explored applications well beyond weight and glycaemia, and it is important not to read class-level speculation as orforglipron label content. A 2025 article in Der Nervenarzt examined whether GLP-1 receptor agonists might have a role in psychiatric illness and treated that question as an open research area rather than established practice (PMID 40042613). Broader reviews of hormone-based anti-obesity medications have similarly separated agents with regulatory authorisation from those still in development, and have noted how quickly that boundary moves (PMID 39676791).

The following are examples of areas raised in class-level literature that are not established indications for orforglipron:

Tracking research? Log entries with dates, lots and notes — records, never plans.

Get the app

Tolerability and Adverse Events: What Studies Report

Across the published trials, the dominant adverse-event signal was gastrointestinal. The 2025 NEJM obesity trial reported that nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea and constipation were the most common adverse events with orforglipron and that they were generally mild to moderate and most frequent during dose escalation (PMID 40960239). The 2025 NEJM trial in early type 2 diabetes described a comparable gastrointestinal profile, with discontinuations attributed in part to those events (PMID 40544435).

The 2026 Lancet comparison with oral semaglutide reported safety findings consistent with the GLP-1 receptor agonist class in adults with type 2 diabetes (PMID 41765029), and the 2026 JAMA insulin add-on trial reported on tolerability in the context of concurrent basal insulin therapy (PMID 42251769). Narrative reviews have summarised the class-wide pattern of dose-related gastrointestinal effects and the role of gradual escalation in mitigating them (PMID 41398455). Labelled warnings, contraindications and monitoring requirements are set by regulators and are not reproduced here.

What is still unknown from the published record

Several questions are not answered by the trials summarised above. Long-term cardiovascular outcome data for orforglipron specifically were not reported in the pivotal publications cited on this page. Durability of weight change beyond the published follow-up periods, and behaviour after discontinuation, were likewise outside the scope of those reports (PMID 40960239). Reviews of emerging obesity pharmacotherapy have consistently flagged comparative effectiveness, durability and access as open issues for the whole class (PMID 39952695).

Want the full course? Every compound, evidence-graded and cited, inside PeptideU.

Start learning free

Where to look for current indication wording

Approval status changes. The reliable checks are the regulator's own product database for the relevant country, the current prescribing information document, and a licensed prescriber who can interpret both. Literature summaries — including this one — lag behind label revisions by design.

For background on the molecule itself, the mechanism and the wider trial programme, see the PeptideU orforglipron overview.

This page is for educational purposes only and is not medical advice; consult a licensed physician or other qualified prescriber about whether any medicine, including orforglipron, is appropriate for a given person. Nothing here describes how a medicine should be used, and no part of it substitutes for the approved prescribing information.

References

Frequently asked questions

Has orforglipron received regulatory approval?▾

Yes — a 2026 article in Drugs documented orforglipron's first approval and summarised the development programme supporting it (PMID 42479349). Approvals are granted country by country, so authorisation in one jurisdiction does not imply authorisation elsewhere. The current prescribing information issued by the relevant regulator, read with a prescribing clinician, is the authoritative source for indication wording.

Which conditions were studied in orforglipron's phase 3 programme?▾

Two therapeutic areas dominated. A 2025 NEJM trial examined adults with obesity over 72 weeks (PMID 40960239), while glycaemic trials covered early type 2 diabetes (PMID 40544435), a head-to-head comparison with oral semaglutide (PMID 41765029), and addition to titrated insulin glargine (PMID 42251769). Being studied is not identical to being an approved indication in every country.

What weight change did the obesity trial report?▾

The 2025 NEJM obesity trial randomised adults with obesity to once-daily orforglipron at 6 mg, 12 mg or 36 mg or placebo for 72 weeks, and researchers reported mean body-weight reductions of roughly 7.8% to 11.2% in the active groups compared with about 2.1% with placebo (PMID 40960239). Those are trial averages in a selected population, not individual predictions.

What did the type 2 diabetes trials report on HbA1c?▾

In the 2025 NEJM trial in early type 2 diabetes, researchers reported HbA1c reductions of approximately 1.3 to 1.6 percentage points with orforglipron versus roughly 0.1 with placebo over 40 weeks (PMID 40544435). ACHIEVE-3 reported that orforglipron met non-inferiority against oral semaglutide for glycaemic efficacy (PMID 41765029).

Are psychiatric or other uses approved indications?▾

No. A 2025 review in Der Nervenarzt treated GLP-1 receptor agonists in psychiatric illness as an open research question rather than established practice (PMID 40042613). Broad reviews of GLP-1-based medications similarly separate authorised uses from areas still under investigation (PMID 41054801). Class-level speculation should never be read as label content for a specific molecule.

What adverse events did the trials report?▾

Gastrointestinal events dominated. The 2025 NEJM obesity trial reported nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea and constipation as the most common adverse events, generally mild to moderate and most frequent during escalation (PMID 40960239). The 2025 early type 2 diabetes trial described a comparable profile, with some discontinuations attributed to those events (PMID 40544435).

What questions does the published record leave open?▾

Long-term cardiovascular outcome data specific to orforglipron were not reported in the pivotal publications cited here, and durability beyond published follow-up was outside their scope (PMID 40960239). A 2025 systematic review of emerging obesity pharmacotherapies flagged comparative effectiveness, durability and access as unresolved issues across the class (PMID 39952695).

The PeptideU app

Track it. Calculate it. Actually understand it.

Research trackerLog every entry with dates, lots and notes — records, never plans.
CalculatorsReconstitution, units and dilution maths without the guesswork.
The UniversityEvery compound explained, evidence-graded, cited to the literature.
Get started freePeptideU Premium — $9.99/mo for the full curriculum, advanced tracking & giveaways

Download on theApp Store — FreeGet it onGoogle Play

References

  1. PMID 42479349
  2. PMID 40960239
  3. PMID 40544435
  4. PMID 41765029
  5. PMID 42251769
  6. PMID 41054801
  7. PMID 41053816
  8. PMID 41398455
  9. PMID 41389711
  10. PMID 39952695
  11. PMID 39676791
  12. PMID 40042613
Keep learning
18+ · Educational purposes only
This page summarises published research for education — it is not medical advice, and nothing here is a recommendation to use, purchase, or dose any substance. Study parameters described are what researchers reported, not instructions. Consult a qualified clinician before any health decision.
Learn it properly — freeGet the PeptideU app