Melanotan I (Afamelanotide) Half-Life and Pharmacokinetics: What Studies Report
Melanotan I is the research name for afamelanotide (Nle4-D-Phe7-α-MSH). Published pharmacology reviews described a modified α-MSH analogue that resists rapid enzymatic degradation and, in its approved form, is delivered as a controlled-release subcutaneous implant rather than a bolus injection. Because of that formulation, reviewers discussed apparent duration in terms of release rate and pigmentary response rather than a single circulating half-life. Animal pharmacokinetic datasets and non-subcutaneous routes were not covered by the reviews summarised here.
Melanotan I is the research shorthand most often used for afamelanotide, also written as Nle4-D-Phe7-α-melanocyte-stimulating hormone (NDP-MSH). Search traffic for "MT1 half life" suggests readers expect a single number. The published literature summarised on this page does not present the question that way: reviews of afamelanotide discussed its pharmacokinetics mainly in the context of a controlled-release subcutaneous implant, where the rate of release from the delivery system and the duration of the pigmentary response were described separately from the behaviour of the peptide molecule itself. This page reports what those reviews stated and, just as importantly, flags where data were not available in the sources cited. This page is for educational purposes only and is not medical advice; consult a licensed physician for any health decision.
What "Melanotan I" refers to in the published literature
The peptide discussed in the clinical literature under the name afamelanotide is a linear analogue of α-melanocyte-stimulating hormone in which two amino acid positions are substituted. A review of melanocyte-stimulating hormone therapy described afamelanotide as an agonistic analogue of α-MSH developed for therapeutic use, and traced its development from the parent hormone (PMID 23884489). A separate review characterised it as an agonistic analogue of α-MSH investigated for the dermal phototoxicity of erythropoietic protoporphyria (EPP) (PMID 21073357). Researchers in these reviews framed the structural modification as the reason the analogue behaves differently from native α-MSH in the body — the native hormone is short-lived in circulation, while the substituted analogue was described as more resistant to enzymatic breakdown and more potent at melanocortin receptors (PMID 23884489, PMID 28063031).
That distinction matters for any half-life question. A number derived from native α-MSH would not describe the analogue, and a number derived from an implant would describe the delivery system as much as the peptide.
Why a single half-life number is difficult to extract
The dedicated pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics review of afamelanotide addressed absorption, distribution, metabolism, elimination and the relationship between exposure and pigmentary response in dermatologic use (PMID 28063031). Its framing separated three time courses that are often conflated in consumer discussion:
- Release time course — how long the delivery system continues to release peptide into tissue.
- Circulating time course — how long measurable peptide persists in plasma after it has been absorbed.
- Pharmacodynamic time course — how long the downstream biological effect (melanin density in skin) persists after plasma concentrations have fallen.
Reviews of afamelanotide in EPP consistently described the third of these as the clinically relevant one, because the pigmentary effect was reported to outlast measurable drug exposure (PMID 28063031, PMID 26979527). A reader looking for "MT1 half-life" is usually asking about the third curve while the term technically describes the second.
Doing the math on a vial? The PeptideU app does reconstitution, units and dilution for you.
Try it freeAbsorption and route as reported
The route studied in the clinical literature summarised here is subcutaneous. Reviews of afamelanotide in erythropoietic protoporphyria described a 16 mg controlled-release implant placed subcutaneously, with repeat administration at intervals of approximately 60 days during the period of highest light exposure (PMID 26979527, PMID 33507118). A further review of afamelanotide in protoporphyria and other skin diseases described the same implant-based delivery as the format in which the drug reached approved clinical use (PMID 38784937).
Because the implant is designed to release peptide gradually, the absorption phase rather than the elimination phase dominates the observed concentration–time profile. The pharmacokinetic review discussed this implant formulation as central to the drug's clinical pharmacology (PMID 28063031). Earlier reviews of the compound in EPP described the same controlled-release approach during its investigational phase (PMID 25470471, PMID 21073357).
Distribution, receptor target and mechanism as described
Reviews described afamelanotide as acting at the melanocortin-1 receptor (MC1R) on melanocytes, stimulating eumelanin synthesis and thereby increasing skin pigmentation, which was proposed as the basis for reduced phototoxic reactions in EPP (PMID 28063031, PMID 33683075). Additional antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties of melanocortin signalling were raised in review discussion as potentially contributing to the observed protection (PMID 33507118, PMID 38784937).
The reviews cited here did not report tissue-by-tissue distribution volumes, protein binding percentages or organ-specific accumulation data. Where such parameters exist in regulatory documents, they were not reproduced in the abstracts of the sources summarised on this page, and are therefore not stated here.
Tracking research? Log entries with dates, lots and notes — records, never plans.
Get the appMetabolism and clearance as reported
Peptide analogues are generally cleared by proteolysis rather than by hepatic cytochrome metabolism, and the structural substitutions in afamelanotide were described as conferring greater resistance to enzymatic degradation than the native hormone (PMID 23884489). The dedicated pharmacokinetic review addressed elimination alongside absorption and distribution in its account of the drug's clinical use (PMID 28063031). No numeric clearance value, renal excretion fraction or terminal half-life figure is quoted here, because the verified sources used for this page did not state one in the material available.
What the cited literature covered — and what it did not
| Parameter | What the cited reviews described | Gap in these sources |
|---|---|---|
| Route studied | Subcutaneous controlled-release implant in EPP (PMID 26979527) | Intravenous, intranasal and oral routes not characterised |
| Species | Human clinical pharmacology and clinical trial experience (PMID 28063031) | No rodent, canine or primate PK datasets in these reviews |
| Plasma half-life | Discussed qualitatively via degradation resistance (PMID 23884489) | No numeric terminal half-life quoted in these sources |
| Duration of effect | Pigmentary response and dosing interval of about 60 days (PMID 33507118) | Individual variability parameters not detailed |
| Other indications | Hailey–Hailey disease case series and broader dermatologic interest (PMID 24256215) | Indication-specific PK not separately reported |
Want the full course? Every compound, evidence-graded and cited, inside PeptideU.
Start learning freePharmacodynamics: effect duration versus drug exposure
The clearest published anchor for "how long afamelanotide acts" is the dosing interval used in EPP. Reviews reported repeat implantation roughly every two months across the sunnier part of the year, with outcomes measured as increased pain-free time in sunlight and improved quality of life rather than as plasma concentrations (PMID 26979527, PMID 33507118). A 2024 review reached similar conclusions in summarising the protoporphyria evidence base and exploratory use in other skin conditions (PMID 38784937).
Outside EPP, a small open study of the melanocortin analogue Nle4-D-Phe7-α-MSH in patients with Hailey–Hailey disease reported clinical responses in treated participants, and the researchers framed the finding as preliminary and hypothesis-generating (PMID 24256215). That study did not establish pharmacokinetic parameters. A broader review positioned afamelanotide as an orphan drug with potential application across several dermatologic conditions, while noting that evidence outside its approved indication remained limited (PMID 33683075).
Adverse Events: What Studies Report
Reviews of afamelanotide in erythropoietic protoporphyria described the tolerability profile in clinical trials as generally acceptable, with commonly reported events including nausea, headache, fatigue, implant-site reactions and generalised skin darkening (PMID 26979527, PMID 33507118). Reviewers also discussed the need for ongoing dermatologic monitoring given the drug's action on melanocytes, and noted that long-term safety data continued to accumulate through post-authorisation follow-up (PMID 38784937, PMID 33683075). Earlier investigational reviews reached similar conclusions about the event profile observed during clinical development (PMID 25470471, PMID 21073357).
These observations come from supervised clinical use of a specific pharmaceutical-grade implant under medical monitoring. They do not describe unregulated material, other routes of administration, or use outside a clinical setting.
Doing the math on a vial? The PeptideU app does reconstitution, units and dilution for you.
Try it freeRegulatory context
Reviews described afamelanotide as an approved therapy for erythropoietic protoporphyria, characterised in the literature as an orphan drug with a narrow licensed indication and an established regulatory pathway (PMID 33683075, PMID 38784937). Research-grade peptide material sold under names such as "Melanotan 1" is not the same product as an approved controlled-release implant and has not been characterised pharmacokinetically in the reviews cited here. This page does not provide legal advice.
Limitations of the evidence summarised here
- All sources on this page are reviews or small clinical studies in humans; no animal pharmacokinetic datasets were included, so species comparisons cannot be drawn from them.
- The pharmacokinetic literature centres on one formulation and one route, so parameters cannot be extrapolated to bolus injection or other delivery methods (PMID 28063031).
- Numeric half-life, clearance and volume-of-distribution values were not stated in the verified sources and are therefore deliberately absent from this page.
- Findings in EPP populations may not transfer to other populations or indications, a caveat raised by reviewers themselves (PMID 33683075).
Readers researching this topic in depth would need primary regulatory pharmacology documents rather than review articles to obtain formal compartmental parameters. This page is educational only and is not medical advice.
Tracking research? Log entries with dates, lots and notes — records, never plans.
Get the appReferences
- Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics of Afamelanotide and its Clinical Use in Treating Dermatologic Disorders (Clinical Pharmacokinetics, 2017)
- Afamelanotide: An Orphan Drug with Potential for Broad Dermatologic Applications (Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, 2021)
- Afamelanotide for prevention of phototoxicity in erythropoietic protoporphyria (Expert Review of Clinical Pharmacology, 2021)
- Afamelanotide (CUV1647) in dermal phototoxicity of erythropoietic protoporphyria (Expert Review of Clinical Pharmacology, 2015)
- Afamelanotide in protoporphyria and other skin diseases: a review (Postepy Dermatologii i Alergologii, 2024)
- Afamelanotide, an agonistic analog of α-melanocyte-stimulating hormone, in dermal phototoxicity of erythropoietic protoporphyria (Expert Opinion on Investigational Drugs, 2010)
- Afamelanotide: A Review in Erythropoietic Protoporphyria (American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, 2016)
- Efficacy of the melanocortin analogue Nle4-D-Phe7-α-melanocyte-stimulating hormone in the treatment of patients with Hailey-Hailey disease (Clinical and Experimental Dermatology, 2014)
- A review and update on melanocyte stimulating hormone therapy: afamelanotide (Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, 2013)
Frequently asked questions
Do the cited reviews give a numeric half-life for Melanotan I?▾
No. The dedicated pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics review discussed absorption, distribution, metabolism and elimination of afamelanotide in clinical use, but a specific terminal half-life figure was not stated in the material summarised here (PMID 28063031). Reviewers instead described the structural modifications as conferring resistance to enzymatic degradation relative to native α-MSH (PMID 23884489).
Why is the dosing interval described as roughly 60 days?▾
Reviews of erythropoietic protoporphyria reported a 16 mg controlled-release subcutaneous implant administered at intervals of approximately 60 days during periods of higher light exposure (PMID 26979527, PMID 33507118). That interval reflects the delivery system's release profile and the duration of the pigmentary response observed in trials, not a plasma half-life measurement.
What route of administration was studied?▾
The clinical pharmacology literature summarised here concerns subcutaneous controlled-release implants used in erythropoietic protoporphyria (PMID 28063031, PMID 38784937). Intravenous, intranasal and oral administration were not characterised in these reviews, so no pharmacokinetic parameters for those routes can be reported from these sources.
Are animal pharmacokinetic data available in these papers?▾
Not in the verified sources used for this page. Every cited paper addressed human clinical pharmacology, clinical trial experience or review-level synthesis in dermatologic conditions (PMID 28063031, PMID 33683075). Rodent or other species pharmacokinetic datasets were not included, so cross-species comparisons cannot be drawn from this literature.
How long did the pigmentary effect last in studies?▾
Reviews reported that increased skin melanin density and the associated clinical benefit persisted across the roughly two-month interval between implants in erythropoietic protoporphyria, with outcomes measured as pain-free time in sunlight and quality of life (PMID 26979527, PMID 33507118). The effect was described as outlasting measurable drug exposure.
What adverse events did studies report?▾
Reviews described nausea, headache, fatigue, implant-site reactions and generalised skin darkening among commonly reported events in clinical trials of afamelanotide (PMID 26979527, PMID 33507118). Reviewers also discussed ongoing dermatologic monitoring given the drug's melanocyte activity and noted that long-term safety data continued to accumulate (PMID 38784937).
Has the compound been studied outside erythropoietic protoporphyria?▾
Yes, in limited fashion. A small study of Nle4-D-Phe7-α-MSH in Hailey–Hailey disease reported clinical responses that researchers framed as preliminary (PMID 24256215), and a review discussed potential broader dermatologic applications while noting the evidence base outside the approved indication remained limited (PMID 33683075).
Track it. Calculate it. Actually understand it.
References
This page summarises published research for education — it is not medical advice, and nothing here is a recommendation to use, purchase, or dose any substance. Study parameters described are what researchers reported, not instructions. Consult a qualified clinician before any health decision.