CJC-1295 and Ipamorelin Together: What the Research Literature Covers
No published clinical trial identified here administered CJC-1295 and ipamorelin together. The two are studied separately: CJC-1295, a long-acting GHRH analog, has human pharmacology data showing prolonged growth hormone and IGF-I elevation, while the verified ipamorelin literature on this page is an animal pancreas study. Questions about morning timing, appetite and water retention come mostly from online communities rather than trials. This page summarises what researchers reported and where the evidence stops.
The short answer first
People search for these two compound names together far more often than the scientific literature discusses them together. In the peer-reviewed papers summarised on this page, no study administered CJC-1295 and ipamorelin to the same subjects. The two compounds appear in separate research lines, in separate species, and were measured for different endpoints. Anything describing a combined effect, a combined dosing pattern, or a combined side-effect profile is not drawn from a published trial of the pair.
This page is for educational purposes only and is not medical advice; consult a licensed physician about any health decision. It describes what researchers published and does not suggest what anyone should do.
What CJC-1295 is
CJC-1295 is a synthetic analog of growth hormone-releasing hormone (GHRH). GHRH is the hypothalamic signal that prompts the pituitary to release growth hormone. The analog was engineered for a long circulating half-life, which is the feature that distinguished it from earlier short-acting GHRH fragments.
What the human study reported
The most cited human work is a set of randomised, placebo-controlled trials in healthy adults published in 2006. The study gave single escalating subcutaneous doses in the range of 30 to 250 µg/kg and reported dose-dependent increases in growth hormone of roughly 2- to 10-fold that persisted for six days or more, with insulin-like growth factor I (IGF-I) concentrations increasing about 1.5- to 3-fold and remaining elevated for around nine to eleven days. Researchers also reported a terminal half-life on the order of days rather than minutes, and described multiple-dose administration at one- and two-week intervals that sustained IGF-I elevation. The report characterised the compound as generally well tolerated in that healthy-adult setting.
A follow-up analysis examined what happened downstream of that hormonal shift. Researchers reported that activation of the GH/IGF-1 axis by CJC-1295 produced measurable changes in the serum protein profile of normal adult subjects, which is a biochemical observation rather than a clinical outcome such as body composition, strength or recovery.
What that literature does not contain
The published CJC-1295 human work measured hormone concentrations, pharmacokinetics and serum proteins. It did not report long-term outcomes, physique changes, sleep quality, or use in older or metabolically unwell populations. Trials of that kind were not part of the record described above.
What ipamorelin is
Ipamorelin belongs to a different class: it is a growth hormone secretagogue that acts at the ghrelin receptor rather than at the GHRH receptor. In practical research terms, that means the two molecules address separate receptors on the pituitary — which is exactly why the pairing question arises in the first place.
What the verified ipamorelin literature covers
The ipamorelin paper in the verified set for this page is preclinical. The study examined ipamorelin-evoked insulin release from the pancreas of normal and diabetic rats and investigated the mechanism behind that response. Researchers reported pancreatic insulin-release effects in the rat model, which is a finding about islet physiology in animals — not a demonstration of a human metabolic outcome, and not a study of growth hormone pulses in people.
That gap matters for anyone reading combination claims. Statements about what ipamorelin "does" in humans over weeks or months go beyond the verified paper summarised here.
Doing the math on a vial? The PeptideU app does reconstitution, units and dilution for you.
Try it freeHas any published study examined the combination?
No. Among the papers reviewed for this page, none administered CJC-1295 and ipamorelin together, none compared the pair against either compound alone, and none reported a combined adverse-event profile. The literature on the two is parallel, not intersecting.
That absence has specific consequences:
- There is no published human pharmacokinetic curve for the pair administered together.
- There is no trial-derived statement about whether GH output from a GHRH analog and a ghrelin-receptor agonist is additive, synergistic or redundant in humans.
- There is no controlled safety data set for the combination at any interval or in any population.
- Any figure circulating online for combined effect size does not come from a study of the combination.
Why the question comes up at all
Three drivers explain the search volume.
Mechanistic logic. Because the two molecules engage different pituitary receptors, it is intuitively appealing to assume their effects would layer. Intuition about receptor pathways is a hypothesis, not a result; the verified literature tested each compound on its own.
Online community discussion. A 2016 netnographic analysis looked directly at this phenomenon. Researchers analysed online forum content from women discussing CJC-1295 and reported that practical information — sourcing, administration patterns, expectations — circulated within peer communities rather than through clinical channels. That paper is useful precisely because it documents where combination talk originates: user-to-user exchange, not trials.
Anti-doping visibility. CJC-1295 appears in the analytical-chemistry literature because testing laboratories needed ways to detect it. Two equine papers describe those methods: one developed an immuno-polymerase chain reaction screen for CJC-1295 and other GHRH analogs in horse plasma, and another described an LC-MS/MS confirmation method for CJC-1295 in equine plasma samples. Detection work of this kind signals that a compound is being used outside approved medical settings — which raises public curiosity without generating efficacy data.
Tracking research? Log entries with dates, lots and notes — records, never plans.
Get the appMorning administration and timing: what the literature covers
Searches about morning versus evening administration are common, so it is worth being explicit: the verified papers on this page did not compare times of day. The human CJC-1295 work was structured around pharmacokinetics over days and weeks, and the study reported hormone elevation lasting well beyond a single day, with IGF-I remaining raised for roughly nine to eleven days after dosing. A pharmacological profile measured in days is a different question from clock-time scheduling, and no timing comparison was reported. This page gives no timing guidance of any kind.
Appetite and hunger: what studies report
Hunger questions attach to ipamorelin because ghrelin-receptor compounds as a class are discussed in relation to appetite signalling. The verified ipamorelin paper here did not measure appetite: the study examined insulin release from rat pancreas and its mechanism, an endpoint about islet function rather than feeding behaviour. The human CJC-1295 trials reported hormone and pharmacokinetic outcomes, and the follow-up analysis reported serum protein profile changes; neither reported appetite scales. So the honest position is that self-reported hunger described in forums, of the kind catalogued in the netnographic analysis, has no matching measurement in the trial literature summarised here.
Want the full course? Every compound, evidence-graded and cited, inside PeptideU.
Start learning freeWater retention and other adverse events: What Studies Report
Fluid retention is a recognised topic in growth hormone physiology generally, which is why it is searched alongside these compound names. What the verified papers actually reported is narrower.
- In healthy adults, the study described CJC-1295 as generally well tolerated across the single- and multiple-dose arms, with the primary reported outcomes being growth hormone and IGF-I elevation and long half-life rather than a catalogue of fluid-related complaints.
- Researchers in the serum-protein analysis reported biochemical profile changes in normal adult subjects following GH/IGF-1 axis activation; that work characterised protein changes, not oedema outcomes.
- The ipamorelin entry in this set is an animal study; the study reported pancreatic insulin release in normal and diabetic rats and did not report human tolerability.
No paper reviewed here reported an adverse-event profile for the two compounds administered together, because no paper administered them together.
Side-by-side: what exists and what does not
| Question | CJC-1295 | Ipamorelin | The combination |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receptor family | GHRH analog | Ghrelin-receptor secretagogue | Not studied together |
| Human pharmacology data | Yes — GH and IGF-I elevation reported (PMID 16352683) | Not in the verified set for this page | None identified |
| Animal data in this set | Equine detection methods (PMID 30938069, PMID 30489688) | Rat pancreas insulin release (PMID 15665799) | None identified |
| Appetite endpoints | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Timing-of-day comparison | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Long-term outcome trials | Not in this set | Not in this set | None identified |
Doing the math on a vial? The PeptideU app does reconstitution, units and dilution for you.
Try it freeRegulatory context
Neither compound is an approved medicine in the United States, and material sold under these names is commonly labelled research-use-only, which means it is not intended for human consumption and is not manufactured to pharmaceutical standards. The existence of dedicated detection assays for CJC-1295 in competition animals, described in the immuno-PCR screening paper and the LC-MS/MS confirmation paper, reflects anti-doping interest in GHRH analogs. This is general regulatory background and is not legal advice.
How to read combination claims critically
- Ask which paper the claim comes from. A claim about the pair should cite a study of the pair. None was identified here.
- Separate species. A rat pancreas result and a human pharmacokinetic result are not interchangeable evidence.
- Separate endpoint types. Hormone concentrations and serum protein profiles, as reported in the CJC-1295 follow-up work, are biomarkers — not clinical outcomes such as function, body composition or longevity.
- Recognise community-sourced information. The netnographic study documented how peer forums, rather than clinical literature, shaped practical knowledge among users of CJC-1295.
Tracking research? Log entries with dates, lots and notes — records, never plans.
Get the appWhere the evidence stops
The published record supports a limited set of statements: that a long-acting GHRH analog raised growth hormone and IGF-I in healthy adults for an extended period, that this axis activation altered measurable serum proteins, that ipamorelin evoked insulin release in a rat pancreas model, and that laboratories built assays to detect GHRH analogs in animal doping samples. It does not support statements about the two compounds used in combination, about optimal timing, about appetite changes, or about fluid balance in people administering both. Readers weighing claims they encounter elsewhere can reasonably ask which of those two categories a given claim falls into.
References
- Prolonged stimulation of growth hormone (GH) and insulin-like growth factor I secretion by CJC-1295, a long-acting analog of GH-releasing hormone, in healthy adults (The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, 2006)
- Activation of the GH/IGF-1 axis by CJC-1295, a long-acting GHRH analog, results in serum protein profile changes in normal adult subjects (Growth Hormone & IGF Research, 2009)
- Netnography of Female Use of the Synthetic Growth Hormone CJC-1295: Pulses and Potions (Substance Use & Misuse, 2016)
- Mechanism of ipamorelin-evoked insulin release from the pancreas of normal and diabetic rats (Neuro Endocrinology Letters, 2004)
- A method for confirming CJC-1295 abuse in equine plasma samples by LC-MS/MS (Drug Testing and Analysis, 2019)
- An immuno polymerase chain reaction screen for the detection of CJC-1295 and other growth-hormone-releasing hormone analogs in equine plasma (Drug Testing and Analysis, 2019)
Frequently asked questions
Has any published study tested CJC-1295 and ipamorelin together?▾
No study identified in this review administered both compounds to the same subjects. CJC-1295 has human pharmacology data, where the study reported growth hormone and IGF-I elevation in healthy adults (PMID 16352683), while the verified ipamorelin paper examined insulin release from rat pancreas (PMID 15665799). The combination itself has no published trial, so no combined effect or safety profile exists in the literature.
Does the literature address morning versus evening administration?▾
No. The verified papers did not compare times of day. The human CJC-1295 work was designed around multi-day pharmacokinetics, and researchers reported IGF-I remaining elevated for roughly nine to eleven days after dosing (PMID 16352683). A profile measured in days is a different question from clock-time scheduling, and no timing comparison was reported in any paper covered here.
Do studies report that these compounds cause hunger?▾
Appetite was not an endpoint in the papers reviewed. The ipamorelin study measured insulin release from the pancreas of normal and diabetic rats and its mechanism, not feeding behaviour (PMID 15665799). The CJC-1295 human work reported hormone concentrations and, in a follow-up analysis, serum protein profile changes (PMID 19386527). Hunger reports circulating online come from user communities, not from these trials.
What does the research say about water retention?▾
None of the verified papers reported fluid retention as a measured outcome. The healthy-adult trials of CJC-1295 characterised the analog as generally well tolerated while reporting growth hormone and IGF-I elevation and a long half-life (PMID 16352683). A separate analysis reported serum protein profile changes after GH/IGF-1 axis activation (PMID 19386527). No adverse-event data exist for the two compounds administered together.
Why are these two compounds discussed as a pair if no study tested them?▾
They act at different pituitary receptors, which makes layering seem intuitively logical, but intuition is a hypothesis rather than a result. A netnographic analysis documented how practical information about CJC-1295 circulated through online peer forums rather than clinical sources (PMID 26771670). That community exchange, not trial evidence, is where most combination discussion originates.
Why does CJC-1295 appear in doping-detection research?▾
Testing laboratories developed assays because the analog was being used outside approved medical settings. One paper described an immuno-polymerase chain reaction screen for CJC-1295 and other GHRH analogs in equine plasma (PMID 30489688), and another described an LC-MS/MS confirmation method for equine plasma samples (PMID 30938069). Detection research indicates regulatory interest but says nothing about efficacy in humans.
What kind of outcomes did the human CJC-1295 studies actually measure?▾
They measured biomarkers, not clinical results. The study reported dose-dependent growth hormone increases and sustained IGF-I elevation in healthy adults, along with pharmacokinetic parameters (PMID 16352683). Researchers in a related analysis reported changes to the serum protein profile following GH/IGF-1 axis activation (PMID 19386527). Body composition, strength, sleep and long-term outcomes were not reported in these papers.
Track it. Calculate it. Actually understand it.
References
This page summarises published research for education — it is not medical advice, and nothing here is a recommendation to use, purchase, or dose any substance. Study parameters described are what researchers reported, not instructions. Consult a qualified clinician before any health decision.