AOD-9604 Benefits: What Studies Report
AOD-9604, the human growth hormone fragment 176-191, appears in published literature mainly inside narrative reviews of obesity drug development, orthopaedic and sports-medicine peptide reviews, and laboratory cell work. Those sources describe it as an investigational compound rather than reporting randomised human outcome data. This page organises, by outcome domain, what the cited papers measured, what study type produced each finding, and which widely repeated benefit claims are not represented in that literature at all.
What this page covers
AOD-9604 is a synthetic peptide corresponding to the C-terminal region of human growth hormone, residues 176-191, and laboratory publications refer to it by that name — for example a 2022 cell-culture study described work with human growth hormone fragment 176-191 (PMID 35783198). This page groups the published literature by outcome domain and states, for each domain, what kind of study produced the material and in which direction the authors described the findings. Nothing here is a statement that AOD-9604 produces any outcome in a person, and no result is described as established, proven or expected. A broader structural and historical overview of the molecule is kept separately in the AOD-9604 overview.
This page is for educational purposes only and is not medical advice; consult a licensed physician about any medical question, compound or symptom.
Evidence map by outcome domain
| Outcome domain | Study type in the cited literature | How the source described it | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Obesity / body-fat pharmacotherapy | Narrative reviews of drug development | Surveyed agents in use and compounds then in clinical development | PMID 22435392, PMID 17971763 |
| Musculoskeletal injury and orthopaedics | Narrative / scoping reviews | Examined applications, safety and efficacy of approved and unapproved peptides | PMID 41966639, PMID 41490200 |
| Athletic performance and the GH-IGF-1 axis | Review | Described a gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration | PMID 42395176 |
| Breast cancer cell line (laboratory only) | In vitro, MCF-7 cells | Reported enhanced toxicity of doxorubicin-loaded chitosan nanoparticles | PMID 35783198 |
Body fat and obesity: what the pharmacotherapy reviews covered
The obesity domain is where AOD-9604 is most often discussed, and the published material available here is review material rather than trial material. A 2012 review surveyed the medical management of obesity, including compounds that were at that time under investigation rather than approved (PMID 22435392). An earlier 2007 review covered antiobesity drugs then in use alongside new compounds in clinical development (PMID 17971763). Both are narrative summaries of a field; researchers writing that kind of article describe where candidate molecules sit in a development pipeline, and such reviews do not themselves generate outcome data.
That distinction matters for how a reader interprets the word benefit. A review that mentions a growth-hormone-derived fragment among investigational anti-obesity candidates is evidence that the compound was studied, not evidence that it reduced fat mass in a defined population by a defined amount. No percentage of fat loss, no change in body weight, no change in waist circumference and no dose is stated anywhere on this page, because the sources cited here do not supply those figures (PMID 22435392, PMID 17971763). Where a number cannot be traced to a cited paper, this page omits it rather than approximating it.
What the obesity literature cited here does not establish
- No randomised, placebo-controlled human weight or fat-mass result for AOD-9604 is reported in the sources cited on this page (PMID 22435392).
- No dose, frequency or treatment duration is attributable to these reviews, so none is listed (PMID 17971763).
- No comparison against currently approved weight-management drugs is drawn here, because the cited reviews predate much of the current pharmacotherapy landscape (PMID 22435392).
Doing the math on a vial? The PeptideU app does reconstitution, units and dilution for you.
Try it freeMusculoskeletal injury, cartilage and joints
AOD-9604 is also discussed within the sports-medicine and orthopaedic peptide literature. A 2026 review in Sports Medicine examined the safety and efficacy of approved and unapproved peptide therapies used for musculoskeletal injuries and athletic performance, placing unapproved agents and the quality of their supporting evidence inside a single assessment (PMID 41966639). A 2026 review in JAAOS Global Research & Reviews addressed therapeutic peptides in orthopaedics, covering applications, challenges and future directions (PMID 41490200).
Both are review articles, and researchers writing reviews of this kind typically describe a field in which interest and use have moved ahead of controlled data. Neither source is presented here as reporting a healing time, a tendon or cartilage outcome measure, or an imaging endpoint for AOD-9604 specifically (PMID 41966639, PMID 41490200). Claims that circulate about cartilage repair or accelerated recovery are therefore not supported by anything cited on this page; they are described plainly here as unestablished in this evidence set.
Athletic performance and the GH-IGF-1 axis
A 2026 review in Frontiers in Endocrinology described the emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides that modulate the GH-IGF1 axis and framed its subject as the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration (PMID 42395176). AOD-9604 belongs to that growth-hormone-derived family by structure, and the central point the authors reported — that use outside clinical settings has run ahead of the evidence base — applies to the family as a whole rather than attaching a performance outcome to any one peptide (PMID 42395176).
No strength, endurance, body-composition or recovery endpoint is attributed to AOD-9604 on this page, and no statement is made here about how the fragment behaves with respect to IGF-1 concentrations, insulin sensitivity or glucose handling, because those specific measurements are not reported in the verified sources cited (PMID 42395176, PMID 41966639).
Tracking research? Log entries with dates, lots and notes — records, never plans.
Get the appLaboratory cell work: an in vitro finding, not a clinical one
The most specific single result in this citation set is a laboratory study, not a human one. Researchers reported that human growth hormone fragment 176-191 enhanced the toxicity of doxorubicin-loaded chitosan nanoparticles against MCF-7 breast cancer cells in culture (PMID 35783198). That work was performed in a cell line as part of a drug-delivery investigation; the study did not involve patients, and a cell-culture result of this kind is not evidence of a treatment effect in people (PMID 35783198). It is included here because it is part of the published record on the fragment, and because readers encountering it elsewhere are sometimes shown it without the in vitro label.
Benefit claims that this literature does not support
Several outcomes are commonly associated with AOD-9604 in non-academic writing. Set against the verified sources used here, the position is as follows.
- A defined amount of fat loss. No magnitude, timeframe or responder rate appears in the obesity reviews cited (PMID 22435392, PMID 17971763).
- Cartilage regeneration or faster injury recovery. The orthopaedic and sports-medicine reviews cited here discuss peptides as a category and their evidentiary challenges rather than reporting such endpoints for this fragment (PMID 41490200, PMID 41966639).
- Muscle growth or performance gains. Not reported as an outcome in the GH-IGF1-axis review cited, which instead addressed the evidence-to-self-administration gap (PMID 42395176).
- Anti-ageing, skin or sleep effects. Absent entirely from the sources cited on this page (PMID 41966639).
- Any anticancer application. The only oncology-adjacent material cited is a cell-culture nanoparticle study, which the authors conducted in MCF-7 cells (PMID 35783198).
Want the full course? Every compound, evidence-graded and cited, inside PeptideU.
Start learning freeAdverse Events and Safety Signals: What Studies Report
The safety material available in this citation set is also review-level. The 2026 Sports Medicine article set out to assess safety as well as efficacy across approved and unapproved peptide therapies used for musculoskeletal injuries and athletic performance (PMID 41966639). The orthopaedic review addressed challenges alongside applications for therapeutic peptides (PMID 41490200), and the endocrinology review treated unsupervised self-administration of GH-IGF1-axis peptides as the clinical problem under examination (PMID 42395176).
No adverse-event frequencies, laboratory abnormalities or discontinuation rates for AOD-9604 are listed on this page, because the verified sources cited do not report them in a form that can be attributed to this fragment (PMID 41966639, PMID 42395176). An absence of reported events in a small review-level literature is not the same as a demonstration of safety, and the reviews cited here framed the limited evidence base as a reason for caution rather than reassurance (PMID 41490200).
How to read an evidence base of this shape
Four features of the AOD-9604 literature shape what can honestly be said about it.
- Review-heavy, trial-light. Most of what is published about the fragment sits inside narrative reviews of wider fields — obesity pharmacotherapy, orthopaedic peptides, performance peptides (PMID 22435392, PMID 41490200).
- Age of the obesity sources. The obesity reviews cited here date from 2007 and 2012 and describe a development landscape of that era (PMID 17971763, PMID 22435392).
- Model-level findings carry model-level weight. A result generated in MCF-7 cells describes those cells (PMID 35783198).
- Use has outpaced data. That observation was the explicit framing of the 2026 GH-IGF1-axis review (PMID 42395176).
Doing the math on a vial? The PeptideU app does reconstitution, units and dilution for you.
Try it freeRegulatory and research context
AOD-9604 is not an approved prescription drug product in the United States, and material offered for laboratory purposes is generally labelled research-use-only. Recent reviews of peptide therapies in sports medicine and orthopaedics explicitly separated approved products from unapproved ones when assessing the evidence (PMID 41966639, PMID 41490200). Regulatory status varies by country and over time and is a separate question from what the clinical literature has measured. This page is educational and is not legal or medical advice.
References
- Safety and Efficacy of Approved and Unapproved Peptide Therapies for Musculoskeletal Injuries and Athletic Performance (Sports Medicine, 2026)
- Therapeutic Peptides in Orthopaedics: Applications, Challenges, and Future Directions (JAAOS Global Research & Reviews, 2026)
- The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating GH-IGF1 axis: bridging the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration (Frontiers in Endocrinology, 2026)
- Human Growth Hormone Fragment 176-191 Peptide Enhances the Toxicity of Doxorubicin-Loaded Chitosan Nanoparticles Against MCF-7 Breast Cancer Cells (Drug Design, Development and Therapy, 2022)
- Current updates in the medical management of obesity (Recent Patents on Endocrine, Metabolic & Immune Drug Discovery, 2012)
- Obesity: a review of currently used antiobesity drugs and new compounds in clinical development (Postepy Higieny i Medycyny Doswiadczalnej, 2007)
Frequently asked questions
What outcome domains has AOD-9604 been studied in?▾
Published material falls into four groups: obesity drug-development reviews (PMID 22435392; PMID 17971763), orthopaedic and sports-medicine peptide reviews (PMID 41490200; PMID 41966639), a review of performance peptides acting on the GH-IGF1 axis (PMID 42395176), and laboratory cell work with the 176-191 fragment (PMID 35783198). Most of this is review-level or in vitro rather than controlled human outcome data.
Is there human trial evidence that AOD-9604 reduces body fat?▾
The obesity sources cited here are narrative reviews of the field, not trials. The 2012 review surveyed the medical management of obesity and compounds then in development (PMID 22435392), and the 2007 review covered antiobesity drugs and new compounds in clinical development (PMID 17971763). Neither supplies a fat-loss magnitude, dose or duration that could be reported on this page.
Do the orthopaedic reviews report that AOD-9604 repairs cartilage?▾
No such outcome is attributed to this fragment in the sources cited. The 2026 orthopaedic review addressed therapeutic peptides in terms of applications, challenges and future directions (PMID 41490200), and the 2026 sports-medicine review assessed safety and efficacy across approved and unapproved peptides (PMID 41966639). Cartilage-repair claims are not supported by the literature cited here.
What did the breast cancer cell study actually report?▾
Researchers worked in cell culture, not in patients. The 2022 study reported that human growth hormone fragment 176-191 enhanced the toxicity of doxorubicin-loaded chitosan nanoparticles against MCF-7 breast cancer cells (PMID 35783198). That is an in vitro drug-delivery finding; it says nothing about treatment effects in people and is not described here as a clinical benefit.
What do reviews say about performance use of GH-derived peptides?▾
A 2026 endocrinology review described the emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating the GH-IGF1 axis and framed its subject as the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration (PMID 42395176). The point concerned the peptide class as a whole; no strength, endurance or body-composition endpoint is attributed to AOD-9604 in that source.
What adverse events are reported for AOD-9604?▾
The 2026 sports-medicine review set out to examine safety as well as efficacy of approved and unapproved peptide therapies (PMID 41966639), and the orthopaedic review discussed challenges alongside applications (PMID 41490200). Neither supplies adverse-event rates attributable to this fragment, so none are listed. Limited reporting is not a demonstration of safety (PMID 42395176).
Why does this page list no doses for AOD-9604?▾
Because no dose can be traced to the verified sources cited. The obesity reviews describe a development landscape rather than dosing schedules (PMID 22435392; PMID 17971763), and the 2026 peptide reviews address evidence quality and clinical concerns rather than administration details (PMID 41966639; PMID 42395176). Figures that cannot be sourced are omitted rather than approximated.
Track it. Calculate it. Actually understand it.
References
- AOD-9604: A Literature Course in Six Modules
- What Is AOD-9604? Definition and What Research Reports
- AOD-9604 Adverse Events: What Studies Report
- AOD-9604 Results Timeline: What Studies Measured, and When
- Are Peptides Safe? What Published Safety Data Shows
- How Long Peptides Take to Work: Onset Timelines Reported in the Published Literature
This page summarises published research for education — it is not medical advice, and nothing here is a recommendation to use, purchase, or dose any substance. Study parameters described are what researchers reported, not instructions. Consult a qualified clinician before any health decision.