Guides · PeptideU · 9 min read

5-Amino-1MQ, MOTS-c and NAD+ Doses in Published Studies: What Was Reported

5-Amino-1MQ, MOTS-c and NAD+ Doses in Published Studies: What Was Reported
The short answer

Searches for a "NAD+ / MOTS-c / 5-Amino-1MQ dosage chart" assume a settled number exists. It does not. The peer-reviewed sources verified for this page are mechanistic studies and metabolism reviews that describe pathways, cell and animal findings, and translational challenges — not standardised human regimens. This page explains what researchers reported, what those papers did not report, and why a dose administered to mice or to cultured cells is an experimental variable rather than guidance for a person.

People searching for a "5-Amino-1MQ, MOTS-c and NAD+ dosage chart" are usually looking for a single grid of milligrams, frequencies and cycle lengths. This page does not provide one, and the reason is not caution for its own sake: the published literature verified for this page does not contain a validated human dosing schedule for any of these three items. What it contains is mechanistic work, preclinical experiments and a large body of review literature on nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide (NAD+) metabolism. Those are different objects. A dose reported inside an experiment is a variable chosen to test a hypothesis in a defined model; a dosing chart is a clinical instruction. Converting the first into the second is the step that the literature itself has not made.

This page is for educational purposes only and is not medical advice; consult a licensed physician about any health decision. Nothing below should be read as a protocol, and no numbers are restated beyond what the cited papers themselves covered.

What the verified literature on this page actually is

Before describing doses, it helps to be precise about study type, because the answer to "what dose did the study administer?" depends entirely on whether a dose was administered at all. Several of the most-cited sources on NAD+ are narrative or systematic reviews: they synthesise other people's experiments rather than dosing anything themselves.

SourceType of publicationDose administered in that paper?
MOTS-c in ovarian cancer (PMID 39321430)Primary experimental study (cell and animal work)Experimental exposure; no human regimen
MOTS-c and muscle/fat metabolism (PMID 27216708)Review of a mitochondrial-derived peptideNo; synthesises prior animal work
MOTS-c therapeutic exploitation (PMID 36761202)ReviewNo
NAD+ metabolism and ageing (PMID 33353981)ReviewNo
Targeting NAD+ metabolism (PMID 39026037)ReviewNo

That distinction matters for anyone reading a supposed "studied dose" online. A review can describe that a compound was administered in earlier experiments without the review itself being a dosing source, and second-hand summaries frequently strip away the species, route and duration that gave the original number its meaning.

MOTS-c: what researchers reported

The mitochondrial-derived peptide framing

MOTS-c is described in the literature as a mitochondrial-derived peptide — a short peptide encoded within mitochondrial DNA rather than the nuclear genome. Reviewers reported that it has been studied as a regulator of skeletal muscle and fat metabolism, with attention to glucose handling and metabolic homeostasis in laboratory models (PMID 27216708). A later review characterised MOTS-c as a candidate for therapeutic exploitation across metabolic and age-related conditions, while framing that potential as an open research programme rather than a settled clinical application (PMID 36761202).

The oncology experiment

A 2024 experimental study reported that MOTS-c suppressed ovarian cancer progression, and the researchers attributed the effect to attenuation of USP7-mediated deubiquitination of LARS1 (PMID 39321430). That study is mechanistic oncology work in cancer models; the exposure levels it used were selected to interrogate a specific ubiquitin–protease pathway in tumour biology, not to establish a tolerable or effective amount for a healthy person. A reader looking for a "MOTS-c dose" will not find a transferable one there, and the study did not present one.

What was not reported

None of the MOTS-c sources verified for this page reported a standardised human regimen — no established milligram amount, injection schedule, cycle length or duration of administration for people. Reviewers instead reported that translational questions, including delivery and dosing, remain open (PMID 36761202). Any chart circulating online that lists a MOTS-c "weekly protocol" is therefore not tracing back to these papers.

Doing the math on a vial? The PeptideU app does reconstitution, units and dilution for you.

Try it free

NAD+: what the reviews report about levels, precursors and translation

Why NAD+ is studied at all

NAD+ is a central redox cofactor and a substrate for enzymes that consume it, including sirtuins, PARPs and CD38. Reviewers reported that NAD+ availability declines in multiple tissues with age and that this decline has been linked to mitochondrial function, DNA repair capacity and metabolic regulation (PMID 33353981, PMID 32694684). The relationship between NAD+ and sirtuin activity in ageing and disease has been reviewed at length, with researchers describing NAD+ as a limiting factor for sirtuin-dependent signalling (PMID 24786309).

Further reviews reported roles for NAD+ metabolism in cellular senescence and ageing biology (PMID 37424179), in stemness, immune responses and cancer (PMID 33384409), and across health and disease states generally (PMID 37848251, PMID 34041853).

Dosing is precisely the unresolved part

The reviews that discuss intervention did so at the level of strategy, not schedule. Researchers described NAD+-raising approaches — precursor supply, inhibition of NAD+-consuming enzymes, and modulation of salvage pathway flux — and reported that evolving concepts in the field have repeatedly revised assumptions about which precursor reaches which tissue and in what form (PMID 33930322). A 2024 review was explicit that targeting NAD+ metabolism carries substantial challenges, including tissue specificity, compartmentalisation and the possibility that raising NAD+ is not uniformly desirable in every cell type — a concern that is sharpest in the cancer literature (PMID 39026037, PMID 33384409).

In other words, the field's own reviewers have reported that the dosing question is unsettled. A chart claiming otherwise is claiming more than the reviews do.

5-Amino-1MQ: what the cited literature does and does not cover

5-Amino-1MQ is discussed in online material as a small-molecule inhibitor of nicotinamide N-methyltransferase, an enzyme within nicotinamide handling. Honesty about sourcing matters here: none of the papers verified for this page is a study of 5-Amino-1MQ. No dose, route, species or duration for that compound can be described from this evidence set, and inventing one would be exactly the failure mode this page exists to counter.

What the verified reviews do cover is the broader architecture that such an approach would sit inside — the salvage and consumption arms of NAD+ metabolism and the difficulty of manipulating them selectively (PMID 39026037, PMID 33930322). Readers who want to evaluate 5-Amino-1MQ specifically will need primary literature on that molecule; this page will not fill the gap with numbers it cannot source.

Tracking research? Log entries with dates, lots and notes — records, never plans.

Get the app

Why a dose in a paper is not a dose for a person

Even where an experiment reports a clean number, several layers sit between that number and a human recommendation.

Combination or "blend" dosing: what the evidence base looks like

Search demand for this page is driven partly by blended products combining NAD+ precursors, MOTS-c and 5-Amino-1MQ. The verified literature contains no combination study of these three agents. Each body of work stands alone: MOTS-c has been studied as a peptide in metabolic and oncologic models (PMID 36761202, PMID 39321430), and NAD+ biology has been reviewed as a metabolic and ageing question (PMID 37848251, PMID 37424179). Combining agents introduces interaction questions — additive effects, opposing effects, shared metabolic bottlenecks — that were not tested in any source cited here. A blend chart is therefore an extrapolation on top of an extrapolation.

Want the full course? Every compound, evidence-graded and cited, inside PeptideU.

Start learning free

Adverse Events and Tolerability: What Studies Report

The verified sources on this page are mechanistic studies and reviews rather than safety trials, so they do not provide adverse-event tables, dropout rates or tolerability profiles for human administration. What researchers did report are theoretical and biological cautions. Reviews of NAD+ metabolism noted that NAD+-consuming enzymes and precursor pathways are active in proliferating and immune cells, making the consequences of manipulating them context-dependent and not uniformly benign (PMID 33384409). A 2024 review framed selectivity, tissue targeting and off-target metabolic consequences as central challenges for any therapeutic strategy aimed at NAD+ (PMID 39026037). For MOTS-c, reviewers reported that translational development — including safety characterisation — remains ongoing rather than complete (PMID 36761202). Absence of reported harm in mechanistic papers is not evidence of safety; it reflects that those papers were not designed to detect harm.

Regulatory framing

MOTS-c and 5-Amino-1MQ are not approved drug products. Material sold under research-use-only labelling is intended for laboratory investigation and is not evaluated for human administration, quality or content. Certain NAD+ precursors are marketed as dietary supplements in some jurisdictions, a category that does not require the pre-market efficacy evidence expected of drugs. These are regulatory facts, not guidance, and they are separate from the scientific question of what the studies showed.

Doing the math on a vial? The PeptideU app does reconstitution, units and dilution for you.

Try it free

How to read dosing claims critically

  1. Ask what the source is. If a number traces back to a review rather than an experiment, the review is quoting someone else's design.
  2. Ask for species, route and duration together. A milligram figure without those three is uninterpretable.
  3. Ask what the endpoint was. Tumour suppression, insulin sensitivity and lifespan are different questions with different exposures (PMID 39321430, PMID 27216708).
  4. Ask whether human data exist at all. For much of this space, reviewers reported that they largely do not (PMID 36761202, PMID 39026037).

The honest summary is that the study literature on MOTS-c and NAD+ is scientifically rich and clinically immature, and that the 5-Amino-1MQ literature is absent from this verified set entirely. Decisions about any of these belong with a licensed clinician who can assess an individual's circumstances.

References

Frequently asked questions

Does the published literature contain a MOTS-c dosage chart?

No. The MOTS-c sources verified for this page are a mechanistic oncology study and reviews. Researchers reported that MOTS-c suppressed ovarian cancer progression through a USP7–LARS1 mechanism in laboratory models (PMID 39321430), and reviewers described translational questions as still open (PMID 36761202). None of them reported a standardised human amount, route or schedule.

Why does this page not convert animal doses into human amounts?

Because the literature itself has not. Species differ in clearance, metabolic rate and tissue distribution, and reviewers reported that even for NAD+ precursors, which precursor reaches which tissue remains an evolving question (PMID 33930322). Reviewers also framed tissue selectivity as a core unresolved challenge in targeting NAD+ metabolism (PMID 39026037), so simple weight-based conversion would misrepresent the evidence.

What did researchers report about MOTS-c and metabolism?

A review described MOTS-c as a mitochondrial-derived peptide studied for its regulation of skeletal muscle and fat metabolism in laboratory models (PMID 27216708). A later review characterised it as a candidate for therapeutic exploitation across metabolic and age-related conditions while noting that development remains in progress (PMID 36761202). Neither reported confirmed human outcomes or a dosing schedule.

Is there evidence for a combined NAD+, MOTS-c and 5-Amino-1MQ blend?

Not in the sources verified here. MOTS-c has been examined separately in metabolic and oncologic models (PMID 39321430, PMID 36761202), and NAD+ biology has been reviewed as a distinct ageing and metabolism question (PMID 37848251). No cited paper tested the three together, so interaction effects, additive effects and combined tolerability were not reported.

Why is 5-Amino-1MQ dosing not described on this page?

Because none of the verified papers studied that compound. Stating a dose without a source would be invention. The cited reviews cover the surrounding NAD+ salvage and consumption pathways and the difficulty of manipulating them selectively (PMID 39026037, PMID 33930322), but they did not report doses, routes, species or durations for 5-Amino-1MQ itself.

What do studies report about safety or adverse events?

The cited sources are mechanistic papers and reviews rather than safety trials, so they did not report adverse-event rates. Reviewers noted that NAD+ metabolism intersects with immune function and cancer biology, making manipulation context-dependent (PMID 33384409), and identified off-target and selectivity problems as major challenges (PMID 39026037). Absence of reported harm reflects study design, not demonstrated safety.

Why is NAD+ studied in ageing research?

Reviewers reported that NAD+ availability declines with age across tissues and that this decline has been linked to mitochondrial function, DNA repair and metabolic regulation (PMID 33353981, PMID 32694684). NAD+ also limits sirtuin-dependent signalling (PMID 24786309), and its metabolism has been implicated in cellular senescence (PMID 37424179). These are mechanistic observations, not evidence for any particular supplementation regimen.

The PeptideU app

Track it. Calculate it. Actually understand it.

Research trackerLog every entry with dates, lots and notes — records, never plans.
CalculatorsReconstitution, units and dilution maths without the guesswork.
The UniversityEvery compound explained, evidence-graded, cited to the literature.
Get started freePeptideU Premium — $9.99/mo for the full curriculum, advanced tracking & giveaways

Download on theApp Store — Free

References

  1. PMID 39321430
  2. PMID 36761202
  3. PMID 27216708
  4. PMID 33353981
  5. PMID 39026037
  6. PMID 33930322
  7. PMID 32694684
  8. PMID 34041853
  9. PMID 24786309
  10. PMID 37424179
  11. PMID 33384409
  12. PMID 37848251
Keep learning
18+ · Educational purposes only
This page summarises published research for education — it is not medical advice, and nothing here is a recommendation to use, purchase, or dose any substance. Study parameters described are what researchers reported, not instructions. Consult a qualified clinician before any health decision.
Learn it properly — freeGet the PeptideU app